Posted by: theNuetzels | May 4, 2007

Christians and Money

So my wife and I have had the joy (frustration) of sitting down and trying to plan out our finances.  There is a lot to think about.  First question, how much do we NEED?  This is the hardest question to actually answer.  Last night we had a power outage for about 30 minutes, and I started freaking out because we have food in the fridge, lights and alarms that need to come on in the morning, a water heater that I’d like to use and so much more.  It got me thinking, what would I do without electricity?  Now I have lived for 24 years and roughly 99% of that time I have had dependable power and lighting.  But is it a necessity?  How many people across the world have this kind of taken for granted luxury.  I don’t know.  What about my hot showers that I take?  Do I need a 10 min. hot shower (the wife says no)?  Where is the line between me living amongst the regular norm of my culture and also being concious of how much I have?  What does God want me to do with my blessings?  How am I too live?

We also recently got hitched and have some money that we are trying to decide what to do with.  Do we buy that kitchen table that we want to be the center of our home, a place of food, fellowship, love hospitality and warmth?  Do we pay off as much debt as we can and go pyscho-gazelle style on it?  Do we give it all away and sell the house and live with only 1 set of clothes and 1 spoon and cup?  (probably not going that far)

This has been dwelling in my thoughts for a long while.  Then the new issue of Relevant comes out and I don’t think that helps too much.  Check out this hard quote. "Jesus calls us to a radical surrendering of our material possesions to serve the needs of the poor and oppresssed of the world.  And there’s no way of escaping that; 1 John 3:17-18 says that if you have this world’s goods, and you know of brothers and sisters who are in need, and you can meet those needs, and you don’t do it, you can’t say that you have the love of God in your heart."

I looked a little more at the ‘has no pity’ part.  It means (roughly) to close off one’s emotions/compassion.  So if I shut out my compassion knowing that someone has a need, then I am not having God’s love in me.  And that darn word compassion means ‘to suffer with,’ or to be conscious of someone’s distress and desire to alleviate it…

Well, once again, I obviously haven’t reached a solution so the only thing to do is pray.

God help us to love you and your people.  Help us to have compassion.  Help us know what to do with our money.  Help us to conform to your spirit and be good stewards.  Help us to be a blessing.

Responses

  1. Ahhh finances! We’re taking the route of living on the very least to pay off the debt ASAP. (We’re getting our advice from Christian finance guy Dave Ramsey http://www.daveramsey.com) It has been VERY humbling and rewarding too. Can’t wait to hear what God lays upon your heart. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

